BHSU Media

McLaughlin, Baldwin Take Top Honors in RMAC Championship

Becky Kindvall, Copy Editor/Sports Editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Black Hills State University seniors Madison McLaughlin and Alec Baldwin received Athlete of the Year awards during the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Indoor Track & Field Championship Feb. 27 in Chadron, Neb.

McLaughlin earned female Field Athlete of the Year and set a record in the shot put category by throwing a season best 50-4 toss to win the event and place her fifth in the nation.

McLaughlin was surprised to hear she had won the award and was very excited to find out she was selected.

“It makes me feel a little better about everything I’ve been working on. Winning is kind of a big deal and I just really want to do it for myself, as well as everyone else,” she said.

Baldwin earned male Track Athlete of the Year and also set a record in the men’s distance category when he won the mile in 4 minutes 7.95 seconds. His time ranks second in the nation.

Baldwin wasn’t expecting to win the award, but said he was honored to be considered for it.

“That means a lot. It gives you a little bit of confidence to see that coaches see the hard work that you’ve put in. Thinking back on all the hard workouts and all the miles I put in, that’s what gives me the confidence to go out there and go for it every meet,” he said.

Coaches from various schools in RMAC held a meeting after the championship to nominate and select the winners of each award.

Both McLaughlin and Baldwin were also selected to represent BHSU at the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championship March 11-12 in Pittsburg, Kan.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the Writer
Becky Kindvall, Editor-in-Chief

My name is Becky Kindvall. I am a Senior mass communications major with an emphasis in Integrated Media and a minor in Speech. I live in Rapid City with...

Student-run media of Black Hills State University. The Jacket Journal / KBHU-TV / KBHU 89.1 FM & KJKT 90.7 FM "The Buzz".
McLaughlin, Baldwin Take Top Honors in RMAC Championship