Mount Rushmore National Memorial Quarter released by U.S. Mint

Released by the U.S. Mint, was the Mount Rushmore National Memorial Quarter.

“About three million people visit Mount Rushmore every year, making it one of the most popular attractions in the National Parks System” according to

To this day, Mount Rushmore remains unchanged after construction which began in 1927 and continued almost nonstop until 1941. Under direction of the process was sculptor Gutzon Borglum.

According to, Mount Rushmore National Memorial is described by the South Dakota State Department of Tourism as, “This epic sculpture features the faces of four exalted American presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln. South Dakota’s Black Hills provide the backdrop for Mount Rushmore, the world’s greatest mountain carving. These 60-foot high faces, 500 feet up, look out over a setting of pine, spruce, birch, and aspen in the clear western air.”

The 2013 Mount Rushmore America the Beautiful Silver Uncirculated Coin is the last of five 2013-dated strikes which was released by the U.S. Mint as part of its America the Beautiful Five Ounce Silver Uncirculated Coin series.

“The reverse of the 2013 Mount Rushmore National Memorial Quarter shows workers putting the final touches on Jefferson’s face, with Washington’s face on the background. It shows the vast scale of the project, with a worker dwarfed by Jefferson’s face” as stated on

In 2006, Mount Rushmore was depicted on South Dakota’s original State Quarter and as well, appeared on three 50th anniversary commemorative coins in 1991.